DUI/DWI Attorney in Virginia
DUI Lawyer with 20 years of experience.
Being charged with a DUI offense is one of the most challenging events in a person’s life. An arrest for DUI in the State of Virginia is a serious criminal charge. When a person is charged with a DUI, even a first-time offense, there is an immediate and automatic suspension of the driver’s license for seven days, and longer if perviously convicted of a DUI in Virginia.
If convicted of a DUI, the court is required to impose a fine of up to $2500, jail time of up to one year, order alcohol counseling or treatment, suspend your driver’s license for one year, and require an ignition interlock be installed on your vehicle for at least six months. If you have previously been convicted of a DUI, even in another state, you can be charged with a second offense DUI or third or subsequent offense DUI, which is a felony. The penalties increase significantly and include mandatory minimum jail sentences.
At The Law Office of James J. McCoart, III, we have over 20 years experience in DUI/DWI law and have helped hundreds of individuals charged with a DUI offense in Virginia. We understand all aspects of the law and know what evidence must be presented at trial to be convicted. We investigate every issue to ensure that your rights are protected, and to find any and every defense possible to your DUI charge.
DUI lawyer, James J. McCoart, III, will advocate for you and seek every possible advantage to fight the mandatory sentences, and the DUI charge itself.
James J. McCoart, III, will determine whether the police officer had reasonable, articulable suspicion to stop your vehicle. Was the field sobriety test or breath test administered appropriately? Was the EC/IR 11 breath alcohol machine working properly?
- Did the Police Have Reasonable Articulable Suspicion to Stop Me?
- DUI Statute
- 1st Offense of DUI
- 2nd Offense of DUI
- 3rd Offense of DUI
- Field Sobriety Tests in DUI Cases
- Breath Tests in DUI Cases
- Blood Tests in DUI Cases
- Refusing to Take a Breath or Blood Test if Arrested for DUI in Virginia
- Ignition Interlock System
- Implied Consent Statute
- Refusal of Tests; Penalties; Procedures Statute
- DUI Penalty Statute
- License Suspension Statute
- VASAP Requirement Statute
At The Law Office of James J. McCoart, III, LLC, we represent clients throughout Northern Virginia, including Manassas, Fairfax, Woodbridge, Centreville, Warrenton, Dumfries, Stafford, Leesburg, Fredericksburg, Manassas Park, Gainesville, Haymarket, Nokesville and Dale City; and all of Prince William County, Fairfax County, Fauquier County, Stafford County, Loudoun County, Culpepper County, and Spotsylvania County.
There is certain evidence that must be requested and motions that must be filed within a specific period of time. Contact The Law Office of James J. McCoart, III, by telephone (703) 369-2734, or email to discuss your or a family member’s DUI/DWI offense.