Many DUI Wins!!

Many Reckless Driving Wins!!

Reckless Driving Lawyer

Reckless Driving Lawyer with over 20 years of experience.

Serving Manassas, Woodbridge, Leesburg, Fairfax, Centreville, Gainesville, Warrenton,
Dale City, Dumfries, Haymarket, Herndon, Reston,Alexandria and all locations in Prince William County, Fairfax County, Fauquier County, Stafford County, Loudoun County, Culpepper County, and Spotsylvania County.

Virginia Code Section §46.2-852 is the general Reckless Driving Statute. This Statute is violated when a person drives on a highway “recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb or property of any person.”

The mere fact that a driver loses control of their vehicle, standing alone, is not sufficient to prove Reckless Driving.

The most other common charge of Reckless Driving is by violation of §46.2-862 which is for exceeding the speed limit by a speed of 20 m.p.h. OR more over the posted speed limit or by driving in excess of 80 m.p.h. regardless of the applicable speed limit.

Conviction of Reckless Driving is a Class 1 Misdemeanor Criminal Offense.

As such, a conviction of Reckless Driving can carry the potential penalty of up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $2,500.00, and, in addition, a six (6) month driver’s license suspension.

More specific acts of Reckless Driving are enumerated in Virginia Code Sections 46.2-853 through 46.2-863. Such Statutes are as follows:

§ 46.2-852. Reckless driving; general rule.

§ 46.2-853. Driving vehicle which is not under control; faulty brakes.

§ 46.2-854. Passing on or at the crest of a grade or on a curve.

§ 46.2-855. Driving with driver’s view obstructed or control impaired.

§ 46.2-856. Passing two vehicles abreast.

§ 46.2-857. Driving two abreast in a single lane.

§ 46.2-858. Passing at a railroad grade crossing.

§ 46.2-859. Passing a stopped school bus; prima facie evidence.

§ 46.2-860. Failing to give proper signals.

§ 46.2-861. Driving too fast for highway and traffic conditions.

§ 46.2-862. Exceeding speed limit.

§ 46.2-863. Failure to yield right-of-way.

For over 20 years James J. McCoart, III, has represented clients in their Reckless Driving matters. If you are interested in discussing your Reckless Driving charge with an experienced attorney, then contact The Law Office of James J. McCoart, III, by telephone (703) 369-2734, or by email.